Ingredients: 1 cup sugar 1/2 cup cornstarch 1/4 teaspoon salt 3 tablespoons butter or Margarine, melted 2 cups heavy cream 1/4 cup milk 1 tablespoon vanilla extract Instructions: In a medium saucepan, combine the sugar, cornstarch and salt. Cook over low heat until the mixture thickens and boils. Remove from the heat and stir in the butter or Margarine. Pour in the heavy cream and milk. Stir in the vanilla extract. Serve immediately.

Caramel Sauce

Something I’m proud of is the fact that I ALWAYS have a jar (or two) of this homemade caramel sauce in my kitchen! Once you make it, you’ll see why I like to keep it handy. Besides keeping a jar in my kitchen, I also love making big batches of this sauce so I can jar them up and give them as gifts! Homemade gifts can be hit or miss, but believe me when I say that giving a jar of this sweet dessert sauce to a friend is always a hit. After all, who doesn’t love caramel sauce?! If you’re a caramel lover like I am, you also need to check out Salted Caramel Chocolate Fudge, Salted Caramel No Bake Cheesecake, and Caramel Cheesecake Stuffed Apple Bread.

How to Make Homemade Caramel Sauce

Boil brown sugar, butter, and heavy whipping cream. Stir in the vanilla extract. Remove the sauce from heat. Allow the sauce to cool and thicken before pouring into jars.

See what I mean? It’s really that easy! Between the short list of inexpensive ingredients and the easy to follow minimal steps, there’s no reason not to treat yourself to a homemade jar of caramel sauce. I really can’t get enough of this sticky sweet homemade caramel sauce! It’s pretty addictive – once you start drizzling it on popcorn, ice cream, and everything else, you won’t be able to quit it. If you make this recipe be sure to leave us a comment or rating. Enjoy!